EDCI 528 Week 7

Final Reflection

HPT is more about the people and environment than it is about training. It brings the tools, resources, motivation, and time into consideration in addition to the knowledge of tasks the staff may have. I don’t think my definition has really changed through this course as it may have gained depth and understanding.

The key things I gained through this course are resources in how to evaluate HPT. I may not remember the exact processes or names of the theories, but I do have the important parts: a basic understanding of what needs to be done, how to do it, and (most importantly) where to look for the rest of the information. It is almost impossible to retain all of the information for recall on command. However, a job can be completed effectively if you know how to find the resources you need.

Competencies and Characteristics: A Partial Overview

1) Cause Conscious, not solution oriented – Strength. I have always looked at a problem and immediately asked, what is causing this to happen? For instance: Tasks not being completed on time could be a staffing issue, a motivation issue, or a resources issue (among others) and the solution to the problem is very different depending on the cause of it.

2) Generous with giving credit to others – Strength. When one part of a team is successful, the whole team played a part (at least the majority of the time).

3) Focus on Client Need – Strength. Clear goals will define a project and help map the course of action. The client need is the whole reason we are there.

4) Able to sort out priorities – Strength. While it is necessary to find out what the client thinks their priorities and outcomes need to be and keep them in mind when assessing a situation, it is important to remember that sometimes what has to be addressed first is not the most obvious or stated item.

5) Diplomatic and credible – Strength. I tend to help everyone involved feel heard and important even when I have to tell them they cannot have their way if we are to achieve the goals.

Improvements…

  1. Organized, rigorous, and prudent. Sometimes I’m awesome. Sometimes it takes a while to figure out where to start. I often have to have an assist in analyzing data
  2. Principled, yet Flexible. I’m good at it, but my flexibility could use some polishing. Type A personalities often have trouble with this part and have to be conscious and intentional about where and how to be flexible.
  3. Sensitive to the need to verify perceptions. Most of the time. If I have the time to sit down and interact, I’m great. When I’m on a time crunch this is one of the areas that is difficult to maintain.
  4. Write statements of performance intervention outcomes. I need some practice.
  5. Create a performance improvement implementation plan. By myself? I get a little overwhelmed. Including (leading) a diverse team who can contribute a variety of ideas, piece of cake.

In my current roles, these skills are irrelevant. In my future roles (I have zero doubt I will become a top notch Learning Designer), these skills are invaluable. I will use and hone them almost daily in creating state of the art learning modules and courses.

Leave a Comment